Coffee at Sunrise

This morning morning I was struck by how peaceful the city was, so much so I had to share. Walking around the streets you can feel the calm before the storm, everything is beautifully still. I discovered this purely by chance when I woke up surprisingly early for me and began making my morning coffee only to realise I had no milk [imagine dramatic music here]. So like all raging caffeine addicts would do, I threw on the nearest jacket and headed straight to the shop, panicking about what hell-like demon I would transform into if I didn’t get my first-thing-fix. 

Wondering around, it was clear who did what (or who) last night. Some people clutched maps, looking well rested and ready to seize the day. Others stumbled around wearing what I can only hope wasn’t their Sunday best, flagging down taxis as they tried to remain upright. For those who know me well, they will know I’m normally cast in with the latter, one shoe in hand trying to remember where I live or what my name is. Not this morning, however! I assume I fit somewhere in between that spectrum; I’m still not quite the ‘go-getter’ but at least I’m sober for a change.

Regardless of why we were up so early there seemed an unspoken agreement that everyone would keep the peace. No one was shouting or barging by. Those who could see straight smiled and nodded politely. Music wasn’t blasting from every store and cafes were patiently waiting to be opened. When the city swings into its full roar, you would never guess it could ever be so still.

By the time I got back to my apartment and sat on the balcony, beloved coffee in hand, the sun had begun to rise in and in between the vast buildings, five hot air balloons were slowly moving across the sky. It was a moment of pure tranquility. It is said paradise is a mindset not a place but it’s hard to believe anyone stood with me at that moment wouldn’t feel the same.

What struck me the most was how the world feels full of possibilities at that time. As the sky brightens, brining in a fresh new day, it feels like there is nothing to stop you from going out there and grasping your dreams, and you know what? There isn’t. As Henry Ford said ‘whether you believe you can or you cannot, you are right’ and it’s true. It is only ourselves, our own self-doubt and worry that stops us from gaining our dreams. If you believe you can, you will. We can all achieve something amazing today, whether it be keeping that dodgy looking kebab from last night down or making a million, it can be done!

I’ve always fancied myself as a figure of the night when the sky is a velvety black and lights begin to twinkle. In love with the mystery, and secrecy only darkness can bring. Today however the morning stole my heart and as far as I’m concerned, it can keep it.

Leave a Reply

